Open Everyday: 11am-9pm

Food Allergies


All sandwiches and entrees can be ordered without buns or chili cheese bread. Cornbread is not gluten free.

Pecan Smoked Meats
All of our pecan smoked meats are gluten free and safe to enjoy.
Homemade Side Dishes
Macaroni and Cheese does contain gluten as it is made with pasta. Cheesy Potatoes have a cheese sauce that contains flour so you will want to avoid this.

Chopped Salad
Our homemade BBQ ranch dressing contains no gluten and is safe to eat and enjoy. Be sure to let the server know you do not want any croutons with your salad.
Homemade Desserts
All of our homemade desserts, except our vanilla ice cream, contain gluten and would not be an option for you if you are sensitive.

Lactose (Dairy)

All bread products do contain some dairy and you should ask for sandwiches without a bun, or no bread on meat plates. All of our desserts contain dairy.

Pecan Smoked Meats
Smoked turkey breast and chicken breast are prepared with some dairy. All other meats are free from dairy products.
Homemade Side Dishes
Several of our homemade side dishes do contain some form of dairy: Cheesy Potatoes, Macaroni and Cheese, Sweet Cut Corn, Potato Salad, Cole Slaw, and our BBQ Ranch dressing for salads. That leaves BBQ Pit Beans, Applesauce, Jello with Mandarin Oranges, Salad with no dressing, and Poore Bros. brand chips as non dairy options.

Homemade Desserts
All of our desserts contain dairy and would not be an option if you are lactose intolerant or have a sensitivity to dairy products.
Misc. Items
Our Cornbread contains dairy, and you will want to avoid the butter, sour cream, and cheese on the Stuffed or Loaded Bakers.


Pecan Smoked Meats
If you are sensitive to soy, the only meats you should avoid eating are the Turkey and Chicken Breast. All other meats are soy-free.
Homemade Side Dishes
The following is a list of side dishes that do contain soy: Cole Slaw, Potato Salad, Beans, Sweet Cut Corn, Macaroni and Cheese, Cheesy Potatoes and BBQ Ranch Dressing.

Homemade Desserts
Our Lemon Cake is the only dessert that contains soy, so feel free to grab one of every other dessert and enjoy.
Our marinated onions at our condiment bar have soy; the butter for our Loaded or Stuffed Bakers does as well.


Over the years we have worked with all of our vendors to be able to offer a “MSG-free” menu. At present we have achieved our goal!


The following items have ingredients that are manufactured in a plant that also processes nuts, dairy, gluten, or soy: Lemon Cake and Applesauce. If you have a sensitivity, we would recommend either staying away from it, or trying a very small portion and seeing how you react.


  • […] A lot. Which probably explains why I was overjoyed to find out that Joe’s Real BBQ sauce is gluten-free. Whoop whoop! Now that I am certain gluten is not on friendly terms with my body, I have to ration […]

    October 26th, 2011 at 7:25 am
  • Nancy

    The web site’s allergy information is great! So many restaurants seem not only to not advertise what’s in their food but often times when asked, don’t even know what’s in it! I am allergic to wheat, cow’s milk and eggs and this information is so helpful and makes ordering easy. Your food is delicious and clearly the owners care about the people eating there.

    Thank you!

    November 7th, 2011 at 6:13 pm
  • BBQ sauce is indeed gluten free.

    May 23rd, 2012 at 11:49 pm
  • You are right! We’ll revise tonight to make it clear, but cornbread most certainly is not gluten free. Thanks for pointing it out!

    February 6th, 2013 at 6:27 pm
  • We updated the Gluten section of the Food Allergy notes. Thanks!

    February 6th, 2013 at 6:29 pm
  • Dianne R

    Do all of your sides contain gluten?

    December 17th, 2013 at 6:31 am
  • Valerie

    Which menu items contain eggs?

    January 15th, 2014 at 3:21 pm
  • Cecilia

    I have to eat Gluten Free & love the Stuffed Baker!! Thanks 🙂

    February 17th, 2014 at 11:42 pm
  • Mike

    Does the menu contain and peanuts, tree nuts, or sesame seeds? Thanks.

    November 3rd, 2014 at 5:55 pm
  • bbqtad

    We do have nuts and seeds in some recipes. Meats should be OK unless extreme sensitivity (pecan wood). Sides avoid Cole Slaw. Desserts avoid Apple Crisp and Root Beer Cake. Ask any employee when you order they’ll be glad to point you in the right direction. You can also e-mail us [email protected] with any specific questions. Thanks!

    November 3rd, 2014 at 9:45 pm
  • Barbara Daniel

    Is your BBQ sauce dairy free?

    April 23rd, 2015 at 5:36 pm
  • Kimmee

    I have a family member allergic to eggs, not other forms of dairy though, just eggs. I know corn bread has eggs in it, do any of your other side dishes?

    February 10th, 2016 at 10:52 pm
  • terry wiegers

    Hi ….. I’m in MN, so have not visited your restaurant, but because family members recently have, they brought me back your french fry seasoning, which I have yet to use, You stated in the food allergies inquiries, that you’ve work ed with vendors to have a msg free menu, but your ff seasoning contains msg, so I am a bit confused.
    thx in advance for your reply.

    May 11th, 2017 at 3:34 pm
  • 1. I just saw this old message for the first time today, so forgive the tardiness of the reply.
    2. We don’t have french fries, nor french fry seasoning here at Joe’s Real BBQ, so you can rest assured we indeed have no MSG.


    November 20th, 2017 at 1:05 pm
  • Shelby

    We no longer live in AZ and miss Joe’s BBQ so much. By any chance do you ship your BBQ sauce?

    July 2nd, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Leave a Comment